Meet the Samples:: Featherweight Cardigan

Pattern: Featherweight Cardigan by Hannah Fettig

Yarn: Sweet Georgia SeaSilk Lace in Tourmaline

Thanks to Stash Enhancer Liz for this stunning sample and for writing up all the details to share with you.  From Liz:

Awhile back (ahem, november, ahem), Sonia asked if I would knit a lace weight cardigan for the shop. Of course, I agreed, since the pattern was simple and straightforward and the yarn was GORGEOUS.

Since this was a shop sample I made very few modifications. I wouldn’t have many any, except that when I went to start the first sleeve I had a huge gaping hole when I picked up the amount of stitches called for in the pattern. I knit a few rows somehow thinking it would magically go away (it didn’t…shocking, I know), and when it didn’t I ripped back and tried again. This time I picked up more stitches than called for and decreased to the correct number on the following row. All good, right? Wrong. The underarm looked great, but after a few rows I realized there was a stitch that not been unpicked correctly, and I had to drop the stitch down a few rows to fix it.

The only other modification I made was to the front band. I was so close to being able to finish the sweater with one skein, it seemed kind of silly to break into a second skein if I didn’t need to. I cut the band short by about 1/2 an inch. After binding off, I realized I probably could have gotten a few more rows out of the yarn, but it would have been really annoying to run out on the bind-off! I knit the sweater to the specifications in the pattern, but it grew like crazy length-wise. It ended up about 2″ longer than the pattern calls for, but it still looks nice.

Let’s talk about the yarn for a minute, shall we? The Sweet Georgia SeaSilk Lace is made from 60% seacell and 40% silk. The blend takes the dye beautifully and the yarn has a wonderful sheen to it. Knitting lace weight yarn on larger needles in stockinette stitch was a new experience for me. At first I was really frustrated because my stitches looked sooooo uneven. It was making me crazy. But blocking is magical. I had my doubts, but my stitches appeared much more even after soaking and blocking. And the yarn totally transformed. Don’t get me wrong, it was lovely before I soaked it. But the drape is amazing and it has a wonderful light and silky feel. My only complaint? The yarn bled. A lot. Strangely enough, it didn’t bleed on my hands as I was knitting with it, but it bled like crazy when I washed it. Not a huge deal since I only used one color and I would never wash it with anything else. However, I can see it being a problem if someone wanted to pair it with a lighter colored yarn in a project.

The pattern was very well written with easy to follow instructions, which is always awesome!

Thanks, Liz!  This pattern and yarn combination is stunning, and must be seen (and touched) in person to fully appreciate.  I think it’s the perfect spring knit, and would also be lovely in a fingering weight yarn.  Apple green, daffodil yellow, crocus purple… I’m ready for spring, how about you?!
Leave a comment

Filed under Featured Yarn, Knitting, Meet the Samples, Yarn

Leave a Reply

