Book Review: Juju’s Loops

We received several copies of Juju’s Loops at Stash a couple of weeks ago, and I think I speak for all of us when I say that we are incredibly excited about this book. I immediately purchased a copy and have been pouring over it every night since then!

My first impression of the book was that it was gorgeously photographed and that there were many patterns that I was interested in knitting. As I spent more time flipping through the book and looking more closely at the patterns, I fell even more in love! Like I said,  the photography is gorgeous. I’m a total sucker for beautiful photography and these ladies really knocked it out of the park. Each pattern is photographed from several different angles and scattered throughout the book are photographs of charming corners of the authors’ yarn shop, Loop. One really fun feature of the book is a “in case you were wondering” page in the back of the book that lists some of the intriguing items (or skeins/balls of yarn) that appear in the photographs.

Of course, I’m sure you’re all wondering about the patterns! Juju’s Loops has a variety of knitting patterns including shawls, a baby sweater, a couple of adult sweaters (a lace-weight one-size fits most type and a dk-weight cardigan), and a few smaller accessories. I couldn’t resist the urge to cast-on something from the book, so I chose one of the smaller accessories:

Cedar Shake Fingerless Gloves

I had a skein of Becoming Art Cielo Sport from Stash that I had been dying to knit up. I thought it would be perfect for the Cedar Shake Fingerless Gloves from the book, and I’m immensely pleased with how the first mitt came out!

The patterns are well-written and give both written instructions and charts. The charts in this book are FANTASTIC! It might seem like a silly thing to be excited about, but I love that I didn’t have to enlarge the charts to actually read them. You can see a little corner of the fingerless mitt chart in the photo above, and while not all the charts in the book are quite as large as that one, they’re all readable without the use of a magnifying glass. Another great feature is that all of the abbreviations and chart symbols are on the front and back flaps of the book so that they’re easy to find.

Several of the patterns in the book are knit in more than one weight of yarn or give you several options to choose from, which I love. At first glance, I dismissed one of the sweater patterns because I didn’t think it would be flattering on me. But when I was looking more closely at the book, I realized that there were 2 versions of the sweater and now it’s in my ever growing queue.

Honestly, I could go on and on gushing about this book. But how about I show you a couple of the other patterns from the book, instead?

Sprinkle would be adorable in any combination of sock yarns, but I think it would be especially cute in the Shibui Sock or Staccato we have at Stash.

How cute is Bertie for all those scraps you have lying around?!

I also really love Brown-Eyed Susan (the shawl on the cover), Cinnamon Girl, and Elk in the WoodsAlright, I love them all.  Come on into Stash and check it out!

Happy Crafting,

Stash Enhancer Liz

1 Comment

Filed under Books/Patterns, Yarn

One response to “Book Review: Juju’s Loops

  1. I think I want to make everything in this book!

Leave a Reply

