Fresh Off the Needles: Dancette

As most of you know, our current Knit-a-Long was a choice between the Dancette Shawl and the Ishbel Shawl. I knit an Ishbel a couple of years ago, and while I love it I really wanted to do something with stripes…Dancette was just the thing! I got a bit of a late start to the KAL and then had a couple of false starts, but made up for lost time by finishing the shawl in 6 days! My initial plan was to use 2 colors of Swans Island fingering-weight for the shawl. I had a skein of indigo that I purchased on a recent trip to Seattle and as soon as the Swans Island hit the shelves at Stash, I snapped up a skein of cream to use with it. Unfortunately the indigo didn’t work out and I went searching through my personal stash to find something to use with the cream colored Swans Island. I found a skein of yarn that I had wound up eons ago for socks that never quite happened (truth be told the yarn never even touched the needles!). It ended up working out perfectly!

Pattern: Dancette by Irish Girlie Knits

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Adorn in Devin (green) and Swans Island Fingering inNatural

Modifications: Instead of a p2tog bind-off like the pattern calls for, I did a sewn bind-off. I initially bound-off per the pattern instructions, but found that when I went to block the shawl, it was too tight. I wasn’t able to pull the top of the shawl straight across without getting rid of the points at the edge. After it dried, I ripped out the bind-off  (ugh, I know) and then did a sewn bind-off instead. I won’t lie….the sewn bind-off took me 2 hours, but it was well worth it in the end.

Both yarns were incredible to knit with, and even more incredible after blocking. My stitches weren’t as even as I would have liked and a good soak evened everything out and both yarns bloomed beautifully. I have a TON of the Swans Island left (their skeins are a generous 525 yards each!) and am already plotting what I can do with the leftovers.

The pattern was easy to follow and had very clear directions. The stripes keep it an addictive and interesting knit, but there isn’t a single part of the pattern that can’t be done while watching a movie or listening to an audiobook.

Irish Girlie Knits has another chevron-inspired pattern out called Fiar, that I think I might need to knit in the near future! Let the plotting begin….

1 Comment

Filed under Books/Patterns, Knit Alongs, Knitting, Yarn

One response to “Fresh Off the Needles: Dancette

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday | Stash

Leave a Reply

