Stash Flash :: Liz

We all have to face the music at some point, and today it’s Stash Enhancer Liz’s turn to show us her personal yarn stash.

I like to air out the stash every once in a while. It’s nice to remind myself what I have, make sure there aren’t any unwanted critters, and sometimes come to the conclusion that there are a few things in my stash I will just never knit.

I’ve been knitting since 2006 and like many of you, my taste in yarn has changed over the years. I probably do a “stash reorganization” every 6 months or so. I didn’t change a whole lot about how I organize my stash this time around since I’ve found a system that works for me. But I did do some purging and tidying up.

I’m fortunate enough to have a craft room all to myself and my husband built some custom shelving in the closet to store my yarn, fiber, fiber arts books, and fabric. Here’s the top couple of rows before I pulled it all out and made a complete disaster of the room:

And here’s the bottom:

My yarn was mostly organized by weight already, but there were a few rogue skeins that had been shoved where they didn’t belong. One cubby had a bunch of yarn I knew I was ready to part with, so that was the first cubby I emptied and tossed those skeins in a pile and put them in the guest room to be dealt with later.

I knew I wanted all my sweater quantities to be together (regardless of weight) and so I emptied 2 cubbies next to one another got to work. Most of my sweater yarn was already together, but those were the cubbies that had some random skeins thrown in. I made sure that all the skeins were put with their mates and made a mental note not to impulse purchase any more yarn for sweaters!

I actually have patterns picked out for the majority of these! 

The rest of my stash is organized by weight. There is a cubby with bulky yarn, 2 cubbies with fingering and sport weight yarn and a large double sized cubby with worsted weight. I don’t separate by color or fiber type, but I did separate the worsted weight into variegated and solid/semi-sold. I made sure to keep skeins that went together, whether it be 2 skeins of the same color or coordinating colors to be used together for a specific project, in close proximity to one another.

I also picked up some soft sided boxes to store my fabric (it was starting to topple all over the place!) and straightened up my fiber and handspun stash. Certain fiber dyers put lavender sachets in with their fiber, so I’ve taken the sachets and put at least 1 or 2 in each yarn cubby. I don’t worry about the fiber as much since about 95% of it is in sealed plastic bags.

After all of my reorganization I had a small pile of yarn that I will try and destash on ravelry and another pile that will be going to a friend of mine who just learned to knit along with her daughters!

Closet after the reorganization:

I would love to be able to say that I’m super organized and have my entire stash on Ravelry. However, it’s just not true! It’s something I do want to accomplish, but need to do in bite-sized pieces!

For me, organizing by weight is key. I have a lot of yarn (there, I said it!) and if it was randomly placed in the cubbies I would have no idea where something was when I went looking for it.

I also like to store my yarn so that everything is visible when I open the closet doors. It’s easier to find things as well as find inspiration when I’m not sure what to knit next!

Being honest with yourself about what you aren’t likely to ever knit will make room for those yarns that you will use and keep your stash from overwhelming you!

Well, I think those are all my words of wisdom! As you can see I’m quite proficient at stashing yarn!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

