Meet the Samples:: Churchmouse Classics Basic Sock + La Jolla Sock Yarn

8 Luscious hand-dyed colors

We have another new sample knit in the shop! We paired the Churchmouse Classics Basic Sock pattern with a new yarn, La Jolla, from one of our favorite West Coast dyers Baah! yarns, and let me tell you, I loved knitting it.

Even though I frogged the partially finished sock no less than 3 times because apparently I cannot read a pattern, I loved knitting with the yarn.  Its squishy-ness, sproing (due to its tight twist), and beautiful color made all the frogging and re-knitting bearable, and the finished product is a “I wish I could wear this every day” type of sock. (I say sock because I only knit one.  There are other samples to be knit!)  Really, the yarn is. a. dream. to. knit. with!

Now don’t let all my gushing about the yarn make it seem like the Basic Sock pattern was second-rate, because it’s not.  If you’ve never knit socks, or knit more than you can count, you’ll like this pattern.

Meet Peg the Leg!

First, it is beautifully laid out in the classic Churchmouse style.

Second, the pattern gives you the option to knit in fingering OR in DK weight yarn, your choice.  There’s also an option to do a rib pattern, or not.  Again, up to you.

Third, the pattern contains incredibly detailed pictures and instructions with tips and hints on how and why you are doing what you are doing when you knit a sock.  This is especially helpful for those of you that shudder when you hear the phrase “turn a heel”, or the word “gusset”.  It is, as usual, a superb pattern from Churchmouse Yarns & Teas.

If you are interested in either, we of course have both the patterns and yarn available at the shop, but I’m giving everyone fair warning now, the La Jolla is disappearing from the shelves.  Fast.  (Coincidentally, my paycheck is too…)

~Cinnamon

Leave a comment

Filed under Books/Patterns, Meet the Samples, Products, Yarn

Leave a Reply

