Dear Brenda,

Not long after I first learned to knit and had been consumed by the knitting bug, I started listening to knitting podcasts. I was very much in the “All knitting all the time” mindset, and meeting up with my new knitting friends once a week just wasn’t cutting it. I needed more!

It was about this time that a friend suggested I listen to Cast On. I took her recommendation to heart and was instantly hooked. I went on a podcast bender, catching up on past episodes while I knit, folded laundry, walked the dog, and painted almost every room of a house. That’s a lot of Brenda, and I’m still an enthusiastic subscriber!

Started in 2005, Brenda Dayne’s podcast was one of the first high-quality knitting podcasts on the market. With her trademark voice, wit and wisdom, Brenda quickly made a name for herself in the knitting world and now has over 2 million subscribers!  I tune in for quality essays and insights about knitting, her segment Today’s Sweater, in which she recounts the history of one of her hand-knits, and the stories about her adopted homeland of Wales.

Here at Stash we are honored that Brenda added us to her list of destinations for her first-ever North American tour. With such yarn behemoths as Webs and the Lion Brand Yarn Studio in her tour’s wake, this little shop is truly humbled.  She’ll be at one of my personal favorite shops in San Fransisco, A Verb for Keeping Warm, this weekend, so stop by if you’re in the area.

We hope that whether you’ve heard Cast On before or not you will stop by the shop next Saturday June 16th to meet Brenda. Let’s help show Brenda what amazing fiber enthusiasts we have in Corvallis!

Saturday June 16th

Toe-Up Sock Class 1-4pm  

  • There are only a couple of spots left, so please get in touch asap to pre-register. (541) 753-YARN

Meet + Greet, 5-7 pm

Happy Knitting!

Love,

Sonia

2 Comments

Filed under Classes, Knitting, Social

2 responses to “Dear Brenda,

  1. Brenda has at least one great design in What Would Madame Defarge knit, but I don’t think you can call it “her” book – a fellow podcaster, Heather Ordover of Craftlit, is the author.

Leave a Reply

