Westknits Mystery KAL

Last summer I joined hundreds of other knitters in a mysterious knitting adventure: the 2011 Stephen West Mystery Shawl Knit Along.  We were given parameters and told to choose three colors.  After that, a new clue was released each week, and we got to watch West’s cleverness unfold in a bold, geometric pattern.  I was really happy with my color choices, and loved how they played together in the pattern.  You can see my finished shawl here.

Color A: Swans Island Organic in Seasmoke + Color B: Hazel Knits in Electrolyte.

So when I found out there would be a 2012 Mystery KAL, it was a no-brainer.  Two colors of fingering weight yarn are needed: Color A can be a solid or semi-solid; Color B can be a little more variegated or self-striping if you like.  Judging from the yardage requirements, this is going to be a generous shawl.  I’ve been daydreaming about this color combination since the Hazel Knits arrived at the shop, and I think it will be a good choice for the knit along.

There’s still time to purchase the pattern through Ravelry before the knit along begins on July 13th.  After that, the pattern will not be available for download until after all of the clues have been released.

Will you be playing along?

xoxo

Sonia

3 Comments

Filed under Books/Patterns, Knit Alongs, Knitting, Yarn

3 responses to “Westknits Mystery KAL

  1. Sounds intriguing — I wish they’d do this in the fall, winter, or early spring. I don’t think I’d have enough time to participate enough…

  2. Renee smith

    Ok Stash Guru- you talked me into i- I’ll be over on Saturday for yarn

Leave a Reply

