Learn to Knit Socks:: It’s not so scary!

Hand-knit socks for everyone!

I’m a firm believer in knitting what you love, even before you’re ready. If you don’t know a certain type of project is “supposed” to be difficult or advanced, you just figure it out as you go along.  With enough passion and gumption, the knitting world is your oyster!

I had only been knitting a year when I started eyeing the socks on my knitting friends’ needles. That looks fun, I thought: let’s do this. I looked for an online tutorial and cobbled together some of the funkiest, albeit functional socks. I wish I had thought to go to my LYS and ask for help in person! Knitting is a slow magic trick, as the Yarn Harlot says, one never more evident than in the process of making socks.

Knit-along socks at Stash

If you’ve found yourself petting the gorgeous sock yarns and thinking I wish I could knit socks, or tried on your own and ended up with something that could be improved upon, come see me. I love socks, and I will show you the method behind the sock knitting madness. Because it is a little crazy, isn’t it?

Crazy fun, I say.

*****

✂Basic Socks
with Sonia Ruyts

October 13 and October 20, 10:30am-12:30pm  $45
Skill level: Advanced beginner – Students must know how to cast on, knit, purl, and knit in the round.
Skills learned: Anatomy of a sock, heel flap, slip-stitch pattern for heel, slip-stitch selvages, heel turn, gussets, toe shaping and kitchener stitch. Socks will be knit cuff down in DK weight yarn on double-pointed needles.

*There is homework for this class.

Limited seating available. Call or stop by the shop to register. (541) 753-YARN www.stashlocal.com

4 Comments

Filed under Classes, Knitting, Stash

4 responses to “Learn to Knit Socks:: It’s not so scary!

  1. caityrosey

    It only took you year to realize socks aren’t scary. It took me more than 20. Agh.

  2. Natasha

    Thanks to you sending that lovely red yarn right after my son was born, I knit socks. They are NOT scary and I’ve taught several people. Wish I could come to your class. I’m sure it is going to be AWESOME!!!!!

Leave a Reply

