Meet The Samples :: Sheep Heid

 

As soon as our new Elemental Affects yarn arrived, I knew it had to be knit up into one of Kate Davies’ stunning Fair Isle patterns.  I also knew that our resident Fair Isle instructor Fran Biel would be the perfect knitter for the task.

She and I poured over the many lovely patterns,and ultimately chose Sheep Heid as a way to highlight the natural colors of this lovely American Shetland Wool.  From their Ravelry page:

This beautiful Shetland wool was grown in Montana, under the watchful eye of master spinner Judith MacKenzie, and spun in the USA. Available in 9 natural sheep heathered shades and 42 hand-dyed colors, this yarn is a fine choice for gloves, mittens, hats, and warm, lightweight sweaters.

We have all the colors in stock, and at just $6 per 118-yard skein, the opporunities for decadent color work are well within your reach.

Don’t know how to follow a Fair Isle pattern? Struggling with how to juggle all those colors?  Fear not:  Fran is teaching her popular Fun with Fair Isle class on November 4th!

Here’s what Fran had to say about the yarn and pattern:

I just had the pleasure of knitting up a hat sample of Sheep Heid for Stash using nine (9!) colors of Elemental Affects Fingering Weight. Simply put, this yarn is fantastic!

I really liked having the entire line of colors available in the shop, and the colors that I did choose – the entire natural/undeyed selection, plus light denim – complimented each other very well. The yarn felt great in my hand, and was not splitty.

I’ve knit with other Shetland wool before, and I most definitely will work exclusively with Natural Affection in the future.

The Natural Affection felt softer to me, and it was a bit kinder on my hands to work with. This might sound odd, but the yarn also smells really good! It must be the wool wash, since it does not smell sheep-y at all; more of a light, subtle floral perfume. 

Anyhow, I’m already planning my next Fair Isle project using this yarn – perhaps a pair of socks, or maybe even the Venezia Pullover if I’m feeling really adventurous.

*****

Pattern Notes

Sheep Heid Hat (available for purchase at Stash)

Elemental Affects colors used on right:

  • 2001 White = White
  • 2006 Gaulmogot = Musket
  • 2008 Katmollet = Mioget
  • 2002 Mooskit = Fawn
  • 2003 Shaela = Light Denim
  • 2007 Sholmit = Red Bark
  • 2004 Moorit = Moorit
  • 2009 Yuglet = Emsket
  • 2005 Black = Black

Pattern modifications:

  • Chart B: sheep body was knit using emsket
  • 2nd repeat of Chart A: rows 1 and 4 were knit using musket instead of emsket, and rows 2 and 3 were knit using emsket instead of musket.
  • Chart C: Rows 12-14 were knit with light denim as background color, rows 15-17 were knit with white as background color

*****

Inspired to do some Fair Isle knitting of your own but want a helping hand to get started? Join Fran on November 4th where you’ll get started on another stunning hat: Edith the Hat.

Call or come by the shop to register. 541-753-YARN

3 Comments

Filed under Classes, Featured Yarn, Knitting, Meet the Samples, Yarn

3 responses to “Meet The Samples :: Sheep Heid

  1. Cinnamon

    Gorgeous hat!!! (I love Kate Davies designs.) I’ve been drooling over the cuteness that is the Woodsy Association by tiny owl knits, and I think Elemental Affects would be the perfect yarn to use! I’m thinking I need a trip down to Stash. 😉
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-woodsy-association (I don’t know how to add a link in a comment!)

Leave a Reply

