Summer Stitching

DSC_0525

Sweet Georgia Merino Silk Lace :: 50% merino 50% silk

DSC_0521

Be Sweet Cotton Candy :: 100% cotton

DSC_0534

Blue Ridge Yarns Shimmer Lace :: 100% silk

“I don’t knit during the summer.”

“It’s too hot.”

“I just don’t have the time.”

“Who wants to work with wool when it’s warm outside?”

We’ve all either heard or said something like this, haven’t we?  Stitching in the summer is one of those subjects that seems to be a dividing moment between knitters and crocheters.  Some of us are happy to pick up and put down our yarn throughout the year, happily working on a project when the mood strikes.  Some of us need knitting like we need food, and are literally incapable of letting more than a few days pass without yarn in our hands.

DSC_0536

Cozette :: 62% silk, 30% cotton, 8% poly

Regardless of your approach, we’re here to tell you that it’s okay.  It’s okay not to play with yarn in the summer.  It’s okay to knit a heavy wool sweater in anticipation of cooler weather.  It’s okay to play with wool, silk, bamboo, cotton, and linen any time and anywhere (well, maybe not on an exam table or while riding a horse, but that’s up to you).

DSC_0515

Shibui Linen :: 100% linen

DSC_0572

Twisted Sisters Essential :: 60% hemp, 40% silk

DSC_0547

Riveting :: 100% recycled cotton

If you’re looking for some new temptations for summer stitching, something that won’t be too hot or heavy, we’ve got options.  Crisp linen, cool cotton, textured hemp, and luxurious silk yarns are on the shelves, shimmering with promise.

The promise of what they could become in your pretty little hands.

As the weather warms up in Oregon, we Stash Enhancers are dreaming of cotton blend tees, silk shawls, cashmere socks, and (gasp!)getting a head start on holiday knitting. There’s even been talk of planning new sweaters for fall!

What does summer mean for your project basket?  Does it lie dormant, waiting for cooler weather? Or are your hooks & needles just as busy as ever?

 Let us know in the comments, we’d love to hear from you!

4 Comments

Filed under Crochet, Knitting, Products, Yarn

4 responses to “Summer Stitching

  1. Gorgeous yarns! I’m in the camp of needing yarn like I need food….

  2. Melanie Jackson

    Oh I never stop knitting. I move on to smaller lacier items (I am an admitted shawlaholic) and use silk, cottons and linens etc. something would be missing from my day if I didn’t knit just a bit, it gives me my zen moments.

  3. Suzanne McRae

    Thank you for a lovely post. I knit almost every day. I have a heavy wool jacket for which I have just finished the pieces and I will join them all together when the weather is cool enough to have it on my lap. Until then…its socks and cowls. Hope to be in Corvallis soon.

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. I am never not knitting/crocheting! I feel like something is missing if I am not working on something

Leave a Reply

